2014 California Economic Summit - Capitol Day Program

A Shared Agenda for Prosperity

August 12, 2014

    8 to 9:30 AM     Check-in and Continental Breakfast for all participants at The Citizen Hotel, Metropolitan Terrace (926 J Street, 7th Floor, Sacramento)

10 AM to Noon     Action Team Meetings

  • Advancing Manufacturing Action Team (California Chamber of Commerce, California Room; 1215 K Street, Suite 1400)
  • Capital Action Team (The California Endowment, Power-Up Room; 1414 K Street, Suite 500)
  • Housing Action Team (State Capitol, Room 3191)
  • Infrastructure Action Team (State Capitol, Room 444)
  • Regulations Action Team (UC Center - Sacramento, Room A; 1130 K Street)
  • Workforce Action Team (Legislative Office Building, Room 100; 1020 N Street)
  • Working Landscapes Action Team (State Capitol, Room 2040)

General Session  for all participants at the Sacramento Grand Ballroom (629 J Street, Sacramento)

          12:30 PM       Welcome and Lunch

Masters of Ceremonies Bill Mueller, CEO of Valley Vision, Thomas McKernan, chair of the board of the Automobile Club of Southern California, and Summit sponsors.

                   1 PM       Progress: The Summit Plan to Advance Prosperity in 2014

Sunne Wright McPeak, President and CEO of the California Emerging Technology Fund and Action Team leads: Advancing Manufacturing (Chris Harrington of Toshiba - retired); Capital (Gregory Wendt of Stakeholders Capital and Marc Nemanic of 3CORE); Housing (Cathy Creswell of Creswell Consulting and David Smith of Stice & Block, LLP); Infrastructure (Sean Randolph of the Bay Area Council Economic Institute, Mark Pisano of the University of Southern California and Kim Walesh of the City of San Jose); Regulations (Quay Hays of GROW Holdings, LLC); Workforce (Rona Sherriff of California EDGE Coalition) and Working Landscapes (Glenda Humiston of USDA Rural Development, A.G. Kawamura of Solutions from the Land Dialogue and James Gore formerly of Natural Resources Conservation Service).

            1:35 PM        Training Workers for the Next Economy: How to Quickly Grow California's Workforce to Capture and Keep Manufacturing Jobs

Confirmed participants include Assemblymember Jose Medina, Kish Rajan, director of the Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development (GO-Biz), Jose Anaya, statewide sector navigator of California Community Colleges Doing What Matters for Jobs and the Economy, and Kris Costa, articulation liaison of the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges, and moderator Mark J. Roberts, CEO of Springboard Biodiesel.

             2:15 PM        Remarks by Speaker Toni Atkins

             2:20 PM       Making the Promise of SB 375 a Reality: How to Finance Housing, Transportation and Sustainable Communities

Confirmed participants include Senate President pro Tem Darrell SteinbergMike McKeever, CEO of the Sacramento Area Council of Governments (SACOG), Richard Lyon, senior vice president of public policy of the California Building Industry Association, Don Perata, principal of Perata Consulting, LLC, and moderator Lucy Dunn, president and CEO of the Orange County Business Council.

              3:05 PM      Water and and Working Landscapes: How to Make Sure Drought Investments Put California on a Path to Water Sustainability

Confirmed participants include Secretary Karen Ross of the California Dept. of Food and Agriculture, Secretary John Laird of the California Natural Resources Agency, Lester Snow, executive director of the California Water Foundation, Celeste Cantu, general manager of the Santa Ana Watershed Project Authority, and moderator Steve Frisch, president of the Sierra Business Council.

              3:50 PM      The Economic Opportunity of Open Data

         Lt. Governor Gavin Newsom with Kish Rajan and Yo Yoshida, co-founder and CEO of Appallicious.

              4:30 PM       Reception

Invited speakers:

  • Senate President pro Tem Elect Kevin de León
  • Speaker Toni Atkins
  • Speaker Emeritus John Pérez
  • Senator Bob Huff
  • Assemblymember Kristin Olsen
  • Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi
  • Assemblymember Anthony Rendon

*Subject to change